Big Plans for 2012

Since the holidays have kept us pretty busy, I haven’t had much time to spend on my computer.  I have been enjoying our family and our horses (rather than hiding in my house).  It’s about time I wrote a bit about our plans for 2012 for Rancho Godinez!  I don’t have everything planned out, but here are some of the exciting things we have planned.

First, Jajan is listed in the IALHA stallion service auction. This is the first year we’ve been able to participate and I’m excited to support the IALHA in this way.  I can’t wait to see Jajan’s foals on the ground!

Second, we have four babies due this spring.  Sunshine and Cheerio are due to have Magico foals in March.  Nigeriana is due to have a CO Luminoso baby in February and Minuet has a CO Luminoso baby coming in May.  Pearl had Ganador’s first foal in November (RG Travieso).  He’s wonderful!  I can’t wait to see all of our babies!  When the babies are here, we will breed the mares back to Jajan (and possibly try a couple of embryo transfers).

Third, I’m super excited to attend the Peter Maddison-Greenwell with Jajan in February!  We learned so much at the last clinic, I can’t wait to see what the results of this multi-day clinic will be.  We are also planning on showing at the Houston Dressage Society show in January, and of course Pin Oak in March.  I think that we should be able to get Jajan’s training level certificate this spring…then on to 1st level.

Finally, I think 2012 may be the year we expand into Friesians.  We have always wanted a Friesian, but have not found “the one” that fits us.  I think we may have found our match, and hopefully we will be expanding Rancho Godinez to include Friesians in the very near future.  Also, our mini Zebu herd will hopefully be growing as our babies are getting close to breeding age.

I don’t have 2012 completely planned yet, but I’m excited about the things that we are considering.  I can’t wait to see what God has in store for us this year!  He brought many things into our lives in 2011 that we weren’t expecting (Jajan and my “Colorado” girls).  Who knows what His plans are for Rancho Godinez!

Leave a Reply

